Today began as a disaster and ended up with a party in Heaven.  Yesterday was a long day and clearly I was very tired because as we unloaded the bolts and plates that hold the cross together I put them on

image

top of the dustbin outside.  However I forgot to bring them in afterwards. Someone passing last night or early this morning must have thought they had been put out with the rubbish and recycled them.
A few phone calls later and my good buddy Mike Vickers was on the way with replacements.  The Crazy Brothers were reunited. As far as I am aware this cross is one of three, so ee were able to perform the necessary transplant to save the cross.
So we said goodbye to my host Tom, and set off into Loughborough for lunch.

image

Mike had come with his daughter Bethany, who commented, ” he still needs training, doesn’t he Dad?”

image

So then it was back on the road, I recognise that the visibility of the cross can provoke a number of reactions,  seriously,  please pray as I walk through significant Islamic communities.

image

And indeed this proved to be the case as first of all a lorry driver stopped the traffic on the A6 to talk to me and get my literature. Most of today’s walk was along the busy A6, yet surprisingly I had a number of conversations with vehicles that had pulled over, a roadside cafe gave me free bottle of water as we chatted.
Yet again God saved the best till last, a lorry with a large red trailer pulled in to the lay by in front of me. As I approached the driver got out to talk to me. ” why are you(swear word) following me?”
I explained that I was walking from Manchester to London and that it would be pretty hard to chase a truck. He continued ” you are (swear word) following me with that cross. ”
He went to explain a few months ago he was driving through Poland when he saw 2 men walking with a cross. He had shouted at them to get off the road and driven close to them, so they would be frightened.  It just so turns out I had been following him after all!!!
Clearly God was on his case, he asked why would two crazy men travel across Europe with a cross?  Which gave me the opportunity to share Jesus. The challenge came clewrly if Jesus is that serious about pursuing you, to die in your place and then send someone to chase after you, what should your response be?
Jaroslav and I prayed together in the lay by and he committed his life to Christ.
In the excitement I forgot to take a photo,  so Jaroslav if you are reading this, please send me a picture?
Tonight I am staying with Trevor and Mary who are involved in an exciting Church plant in Leicester. Tomorrow I walk on to Market Harborough,  where there just may be a impromptu meeting at the Baptist Church.
Keep praying, I know it keeps me going
Alan.

